Medical exoskeleton comparison for neurorehabilitation buyers
Five clinical gait exoskeletons compared on documented specs, compliance, deployment constraints and the parameters the datasheets still hide.
ExoSelect researchFive clinical gait exoskeletons compared on documented specs, compliance, deployment constraints and the parameters the datasheets still hide.
ExoSelect researchContinue reading
Editorial QA
Checked for sourced parameters, internal links and prohibited claims.
For neurorehabilitation procurement, the five documented systems in the ExoSelect database split into two camps: lighter modular gait trainers (Indego at 12.3 kg, HAL Lower Limb at 17 kg) and heavier therapist-supervised or self-balancing platforms (EksoNR at 23.6 kg, ExoMotus M4 at 23.5 kg, Atalante X at 65 kg). None of the five discloses an indicative price, and only Atalante X publishes a rated lift support figure (80 kg), so a comparison must be built on weight, speed, degrees of freedom, certification and service model rather than headline cost.
The right question is not which exoskeleton is best, but which of these five fits your patient profile, floor space and reimbursement route. Every system here is active or hybrid and therapist-supervised; the differences that decide a purchase are mass, gait speed, joint degrees of freedom, regional certification and whether the maker sells capital equipment or a treatment programme.
The table below uses only parameters published in the ExoSelect database. Where a maker has not disclosed a value, the cell says so rather than estimating.
| Parameter | EksoNR | HAL Lower Limb | Atalante X | Indego | ExoMotus M4 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maker | Ekso Bionics | Cyberdyne | Wandercraft | Parker Hannifin | Fourier Intelligence |
| Drive | Active | Hybrid | Active | Active | Active |
| Weight | 23.6 kg | 17 kg | 65 kg | 12.3 kg | 23.5 kg |
| User weight limit | 100 kg | 100 kg | 100 kg | 113 kg | 100 kg |
| Height range | 152–193 cm | 145–190 cm | 145–190 cm | 155–195 cm | 155–190 cm |
| Speed | 1.1 km/h | 1.5 km/h | 2.5 km/h | 2 km/h | 1.2 km/h |
| Degrees of freedom | 4 | 2 | 12 | 4 | 4 |
| Assist torque | 40 Nm | 40 Nm | Unknown | Unknown | Unknown |
| Rated lift support | Not applicable | Not applicable | 80 kg | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Battery life | 4 h | 3 h | 4 h | 4 h | 3 h |
| Certifications | FDA, CE | CE medical, ISO 13485 | CE medical | FDA, CE | NMPA, CE |
| Availability model | Inquiry | Lease or treatment programme | Inquiry | Inquiry | Inquiry |
| Regions | NA, EU, APAC | Japan, EU, APAC | EU, NA | NA, EU | APAC, EU, Middle East |
| Lead time | 8–12 weeks | Programme-dependent | Contact maker | Contact regional distributor | Contact regional distributor |
Mass matters in a neurorehabilitation gym because therapists and nurses move the device between plinths, parallel bars and therapy mats. Indego (12.3 kg) and HAL Lower Limb (17 kg) are the only units a single therapist can plausibly reposition without a hoist, though neither maker publishes a handling protocol in the datasheet. EksoNR and ExoMotus M4 sit around 23.5 kg, and Atalante X at 65 kg is effectively a fixed-installation platform.
Speed runs in the opposite direction. Atalante X publishes 2.5 km/h and Indego 2 km/h, while EksoNR publishes 1.1 km/h and ExoMotus M4 1.2 km/h. For early-phase gait training that is rarely the constraint; for overground endurance work with higher-functioning patients it is. The datasheet does not state whether those figures are maximum or nominal, which matters when you write a clinical protocol around them.
Atalante X publishes 12 degrees of freedom and a self-balancing walk mode, which is the widest kinematic envelope in this set and the reason for its 65 kg mass. EksoNR, Indego and ExoMotus M4 all publish 4 degrees of freedom with therapist-adjusted or therapist-controlled assistance. HAL Lower Limb publishes 2 degrees of freedom but is the only unit using bioelectric signal control alongside an autonomous gait mode, which changes the therapist's role from driving the gait to supervising it.
Buyers should compare control modes against staffing, not against marketing. A 12-DOF self-balancing platform requires trained operators and clear floor space; a 2-DOF bioelectric system requires electrode placement time per session. Neither requirement is quantified in the datasheets.
EksoNR and Indego carry both FDA and CE, making them the simplest options for a clinic that treats US and EU patients or runs multi-site trials across both regions. Atalante X is CE medical only and listed for Europe and North America, so a US deployment needs verification of its regulatory status before contract. ExoMotus M4 carries NMPA and CE and is listed for Asia-Pacific, Europe and the Middle East, which makes it the natural comparator for buyers in those regions but a documentation risk for a US site.
HAL Lower Limb adds ISO 13485 to CE medical, a quality-management certification the others do not list. That is relevant if your hospital procurement team scores supplier quality systems.
HAL Lower Limb is the outlier commercially: the database records it as often offered as a treatment or lease programme rather than a capital purchase, with programme-dependent lead time. That shifts the cost question from capital budget to operating budget and changes the total-cost model entirely. The other four are quoted on inquiry, and EksoNR is the only one with a published lead time (8–12 weeks).
For a buyer building a business case, this is the single most under-discussed difference in the category. A lease programme can clear a capital committee that a six-figure equipment request cannot, but it also locks the clinic into the maker's service terms. See the medical exoskeleton category for the full set of systems and the side-by-side comparison tool to model alternatives.
Three gaps recur across all five systems and each one changes a procurement decision.
Peak assist force is undisclosed for every system. Torque is published for EksoNR and HAL Lower Limb (40 Nm each) but not for Atalante X, Indego or ExoMotus M4, and no maker publishes peak assist force. Without it you cannot match the device to a patient's strength deficit or compare it to a competitor on clinical grounds. Ask for it in writing.
Indicative price is undisclosed for all five. Every price field is null with a note that configuration, training and service are quoted. That means a comparison table cannot rank on cost, and any published price you see elsewhere is not traceable to the maker. Budget approval will require a formal quote per system.
Rated lift support is only published by Atalante X (80 kg). For the other four the database marks it not applicable, which is a design statement rather than a missing number, but buyers should confirm whether that reflects a true absence of lift function or a documentation choice. It affects safe patient handling policy.
Two further unknowns are worth naming: battery figures are published but none of the datasheets state whether they are measured under continuous walking or mixed therapy use, and none state a service interval or spare-parts lead time. Both feed directly into total cost of ownership.
Do not choose Atalante X if your therapy space is shared, multi-purpose or upstairs. At 65 kg with a self-balancing architecture it is a fixed-installation decision, and the database lists no stair support. Clinics that need to move a device between rooms should look at Indego or HAL Lower Limb instead.
Do not choose HAL Lower Limb if your procurement process requires a capital asset with a fixed purchase price and a defined lead time. The programme model and programme-dependent lead time make it a poor fit for a tender that scores on capital cost and delivery date.
Do not choose ExoMotus M4 for a US clinical deployment without first confirming its regulatory pathway; the database lists NMPA and CE only. And do not choose EksoNR purely on certification breadth if your patient population includes higher-weight users, because its 100 kg limit is below Indego's 113 kg.
Indego at 12.3 kg, followed by HAL Lower Limb at 17 kg. Both are materially lighter than EksoNR (23.6 kg), ExoMotus M4 (23.5 kg) and Atalante X (65 kg).
No. All five list indicative price as undisclosed and are quoted on inquiry, with HAL Lower Limb typically offered as a lease or treatment programme.
EksoNR and Indego list FDA and CE. Atalante X lists CE medical only, HAL Lower Limb lists CE medical and ISO 13485, and ExoMotus M4 lists NMPA and CE.
Request the peak assist force figure in writing from Ekso Bionics for EksoNR and from Parker Hannifin for Indego, then compare both against Atalante X and HAL Lower Limb on the comparison page. If you need help scoping the shortlist against your patient profile and budget route, contact the ExoSelect selection desk.
Editorial note
This analysis is based on published specifications and named sources. No first-party physical evaluation was performed.
Reviewed by the ExoSelect editorial desk