Exoskeleton for Cerebral Palsy Gait: Indego and Clinical Alternatives
Indego is the only system in our database with a documented 12.3 kg weight and 4 DOF for CP gait training, but peak assist force and price remain undisclosed.
ExoSelect researchIndego is the only system in our database with a documented 12.3 kg weight and 4 DOF for CP gait training, but peak assist force and price remain undisclosed.
ExoSelect researchContinue reading
Checked for sourced parameters, internal links and prohibited claims.
Indego is the lightest active medical exoskeleton in our database at 12.3 kg, which matters for CP patients who often have lower body weight and tolerance. But the absence of published assist force and torque figures means you cannot verify whether it meets the specific joint torque needs of spastic gait without a clinical trial.
Cerebral palsy gait is heterogeneous: some patients need hip flexion assistance, others knee extension or ankle control. Indego’s modular hip, thigh, and shank sizes allow fitting across a height range of 155–195 cm and user weight up to 113 kg. Its control modes include intuitive movement and therapist-controlled gait, which can be useful for progressive training. The 4 DOF (likely hip and knee flexion/extension) provide basic sagittal plane support, but CP often involves transverse plane issues like internal rotation—Indego’s DOF count suggests it does not address those.
Parker Hannifin lists peer-reviewed gait training studies as clinical evidence, but none are specific to cerebral palsy in the database. That means you cannot assume CP-specific efficacy without reviewing the published literature yourself.
| Spec | Indego | EksoNR | HAL Lower Limb | Atalante X | ExoMotus M4 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weight | 12.3 kg | 23.6 kg | 17 kg | 65 kg | 23.5 kg |
| DOF | 4 | 4 | 2 | 12 | 4 |
| Assist torque | Unknown | 40 Nm | 40 Nm | Unknown | Unknown |
| Speed | 2 km/h | 1.1 km/h | 1.5 km/h | 2.5 km/h | 1.2 km/h |
| Battery life | 4 h | 4 h | 3 h | 4 h | 3 h |
| User weight max | 113 kg | 100 kg | 100 kg | 100 kg | 100 kg |
| Certifications | FDA, CE | FDA, CE | CE medical, ISO 13485 | CE medical | NMPA, CE |
Only supplied specs shown. “Unknown” means the database does not disclose the value.
Peak assist force (undisclosed): For CP gait, assist force determines how much the device can overcome spasticity or weakness. Without it, you cannot match the exoskeleton to a patient’s torque requirements. Ask Parker Hannifin for measured assist force at the hip and knee across walking speeds.
Peak assist torque (unknown): Torque is the rotational equivalent; it directly affects knee extension during stance. EksoNR and HAL disclose 40 Nm, so Indego’s omission is a competitive disadvantage. Request torque curves or a clinical study reporting joint moments.
Indicative price (undisclosed): Budgeting is impossible without a price range. The note says regional reimbursement and configuration determine final price, but that is not a number. Ask for a quote including training, service, and warranty extension.
CP-specific clinical evidence: The database lists “peer-reviewed gait training studies” but does not specify conditions. You need to verify whether any study enrolled cerebral palsy patients and what outcomes were measured (e.g., gait speed, GMFM).
Do not choose Indego if your CP patient population includes children or adolescents under 155 cm height or over 113 kg—the device will not fit. Also avoid it if you require documented assist torque above 40 Nm, because Indego does not disclose its torque and may be underpowered for severe spasticity. Finally, if you need a system with published CP-specific randomized controlled trials, Indego is not the safest bet; EksoNR has broader neurorehabilitation evidence (stroke, SCI) but still lacks CP-specific data in our database.
The database lists FDA and CE certifications, but the specific indications are not disclosed. You must check the FDA 510(k) summary or contact Parker Hannifin to confirm CP is a cleared indication.
113 kg, according to the supplied specifications.
The datasheet states “Sit-to-stand and level walking; clinical assessment required for stairs.” So stair use is not routinely supported and requires clinical assessment.
Compare Indego side-by-side with EksoNR on our comparison page, or request the missing assist force and torque data directly from Parker Hannifin via our inquiry form. For a broader view of medical exoskeletons, see the medical category.
Sources: Parker Hannifin Indego official page: https://www.parker.com/us/en/industries/medical/indego.html
Editorial note
This analysis is based on published specifications and named sources. No first-party physical evaluation was performed.
Reviewed by the ExoSelect editorial desk
Sources and notes