Gait Training Exoskeleton Buyer's Guide: EksoNR, Indego, HAL & More
Procurement guide to clinical gait training exoskeletons: compare EksoNR, Indego, HAL, Atalante X and ExoMotus M4 on disclosed specs, hidden gaps and total cost.
ExoSelect researchProcurement guide to clinical gait training exoskeletons: compare EksoNR, Indego, HAL, Atalante X and ExoMotus M4 on disclosed specs, hidden gaps and total cost.
ExoSelect researchContinue reading
Editorial QA
Checked for sourced parameters, internal links and prohibited claims.
This guide answers the commercial question: which gait training exoskeleton fits a rehabilitation procurement brief, and where the datasheets leave you exposed. It is built from the ExoSelect database, which records only manufacturer-published specifications and flags undisclosed parameters. Every number below is traceable to that dataset; where a value is missing, it is marked Unknown or Not disclosed.
| System | Maker | Drive | Weight | User weight | Speed | DOF | Battery life | Certifications | Lift support |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EksoNR | Ekso Bionics | Active | 23.6 kg | 100 kg | 1.1 km/h | 4 | 4 h | FDA, CE | Not applicable |
| Indego | Parker Hannifin | Active | 12.3 kg | 113 kg | 2 km/h | 4 | 4 h | FDA, CE | Not applicable |
| HAL Lower Limb | Cyberdyne | Hybrid | 17 kg | 100 kg | 1.5 km/h | 2 | 3 h | CE medical, ISO 13485 | Not applicable |
| Atalante X | Wandercraft | Active | 65 kg | 100 kg | 2.5 km/h | 12 | 4 h | CE medical | 80 kg |
| ExoMotus M4 | Fourier Intelligence | Active | 23.5 kg | 100 kg | 1.2 km/h | 4 | 3 h | NMPA, CE | Not applicable |
All systems are category medical. For side-by-side specification filtering, use the comparison tool.
Three gaps recur across these five systems and each one changes the procurement calculus.
Peak assist force is undisclosed for every system. The dataset records assist_force as undisclosed for EksoNR, HAL Lower Limb, Atalante X, Indego and ExoMotus M4. Without it, you cannot match device output to patient impairment level or compare therapeutic intensity across vendors. Ask each maker for a documented force curve or test protocol; if they decline, treat the omission as a scoring penalty.
Peak assist torque is Unknown for Atalante X, Indego and ExoMotus M4. EksoNR and HAL Lower Limb disclose 40 Nm, but the other three do not. Torque is the parameter that determines whether a device can support sit-to-stand or ramp work for a given body mass. A vendor that cannot supply it is asking you to buy on brand.
Indicative price is undisclosed for all five. The database records price as null for every system. HAL is offered as a lease or treatment programme; the others are quoted capital purchases. That means your total-cost model must be built from service contracts, training, battery replacement and reimbursement pathways—none of which are published. Do not accept a verbal range as a budget figure.
A fourth gap is regional: Atalante X lists only CE medical and regions Europe and North America, while ExoMotus M4 carries NMPA and CE and lists Asia-Pacific, Europe and Middle East. If your facility is in a region not listed, availability is not confirmed by the dataset.
Atalante X weighs 65 kg—more than five times Indego's 12.3 kg. That difference is not a footnote; it determines whether the device can be moved between treatment rooms, whether the floor needs reinforcement, and whether a single therapist can set it up. EksoNR (23.6 kg) and ExoMotus M4 (23.5 kg) sit in the middle. HAL Lower Limb is 17 kg. If your gait training area is upstairs or shared, the heavier systems may require a dedicated ground-floor room and a two-person handling protocol. The datasheets do not state transport wheels or folding dimensions, so request a site survey before signing.
Atalante X lists 2.5 km/h, Indego 2 km/h, HAL 1.5 km/h, ExoMotus M4 1.2 km/h and EksoNR 1.1 km/h. For high-tone or low-function patients, slower controlled speeds may be preferable; for higher-functioning outpatients, a faster system reduces session time per patient. But speed alone is not gait quality. None of the datasheets disclose step length, cadence range or minimum/maximum stride, so you cannot infer walking pattern from the speed figure. Ask for a gait cycle specification.
EksoNR and Indego carry both FDA and CE, which covers US and EU clinical deployment. HAL Lower Limb carries CE medical and ISO 13485 but not FDA in this dataset—check US availability separately. Atalante X carries CE medical only. ExoMotus M4 carries NMPA (China) and CE. If your procurement crosses regions, the certification set is a hard filter, not a nice-to-have. Also note standards: EksoNR and HAL list IEC 60601-1; Atalante X additionally lists ISO 13482 (personal care robots). The others list IEC 60601-1 only. For a full standards comparison, see the compare page.
If your clinic needs a device that can be moved between rooms by one therapist, do not choose Atalante X without a site survey: at 65 kg it is effectively a fixed installation. If you require FDA clearance for US reimbursement, do not choose HAL Lower Limb, Atalante X or ExoMotus M4 on the basis of this dataset—only EksoNR and Indego list FDA. If you need documented peak assist torque to match a specific impairment protocol, do not choose Atalante X, Indego or ExoMotus M4 until the maker supplies it; EksoNR and HAL disclose 40 Nm. And if you need a capital purchase with a known lead time, HAL's programme-dependent lead time and lease model may not fit a fixed-budget tender.
Because no price is disclosed, build a five-year model around: acquisition or lease fees (quoted), therapist training (quoted separately for ExoMotus M4), service contract (not disclosed), battery replacement (all use lithium-ion; swappable on all five, but cycle life is not disclosed), and software subscriptions (EksoNR uses EksoPulse; Indego uses Bluetooth session logging; Atalante X uses a clinical dashboard). The absence of battery cycle life is a material gap: a 4 h battery that needs replacement every 18 months versus every 36 months changes the model. Request written cycle-life data from each vendor.
Before you issue an RFP, request the missing parameters in writing from each shortlisted maker: peak assist force, peak assist torque (where Unknown), battery cycle life, and a site-handling specification. Then compare the responses side by side using the ExoSelect comparison tool or contact the selection desk for a documented gap analysis against your patient cohort.
Indego (Parker Hannifin) is the lightest in this dataset at 12.3 kg, followed by HAL Lower Limb at 17 kg.
No. All five record indicative price as undisclosed. HAL is offered as a lease or treatment programme; the others are quoted capital purchases.
Only EksoNR and Indego list FDA in this dataset. HAL Lower Limb, Atalante X and ExoMotus M4 do not.
Editorial note
This analysis is based on published specifications and named sources. No first-party physical evaluation was performed.
Reviewed by the ExoSelect editorial desk